Skip to content

Shakeup at the AGM

Jan 2020 06

Time for Designs

Waterford Raceway held their AGM in Lawlor’s Hotel Dungarvan on Sunday last (Jan. 5th) with a large crowd in attendance. A review of the 2019 season was given by the outgoing chairman –Kevin Healy, followed by the treasurer’s report given by the outgoing Martin Fitzgerald and Jeff Kiersey with the safety report for the year. As the outgoing officers stepped down to facilitate the election of the 2020 committee, Kevin, Martin and outgoing secretary Anita Pollard all stated that they were not willing to let their names go forward for re-election.

PJ O’Sullivan and Ray D’Arcy were re-elected unopposed as joint club presidents. Anthony Lawton was voted in as club chairman with Willie Heney as vice-chairman. Anita Lonergan was elected as treasurer ably assisted by Martin Fitzgerald. Alan Darcy took up the secretary position assisted by Grace Pollard. Nicky Banville, Martin Morrissey and John Pollard were re-elected as course marshals with Rally Hally also coming in. Alan Darcy returns as competition secretary while a few new names appear in the scrutineers section with Ronan Waters,  Willie Heney, Jason Ryan, Ben Hickey, Martin Fitz and Brian Weston elected. Safety officers for the year are Martin Morrissey, Grace Pollard and Jimmy Sullivan. Kevin Healy was elected to the PRO team along with the returning Anthony Lawton and Jamie Condon. Raymond D’Arcy takes the position of track manager assisted by Jeff Kiersey while Jamie Condon and Adrian Power were returned as handicappers. The junior liaison officers  for the year are Anita Lonergan and Steven Condon. The disciplinary committee were returned unopposed, with Anthony Lawton once again on the mic for raceday commentary.


With the formalities sorted, the new look top table took their seats for their first meeting. New elected chairman, Anthony Lawton thanked the outgoing officers for their hard work and stated that the new committee have a lot of work to do to maintain the high standards set by their predecessors. He also thanked all those in attendance and reminded them that Waterford Raceway was a team and even those outside the committee had a responsibility to promote and portray the club in a positive way. A list of rule change proposals were then debated and voted on with the passed proposals being implemented in the 2020 rule book. Finally the first few race dates were once again confirmed with a list of proposed dates for the rest of the season to be discussed at the next committee meeting. 

Items for Sale


Calendars, woolly hats & caps are available on racedays or contact us 

Keep Reading

Comments (0)

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>

Contact Us

  • 086 8936714
  • The Pike, Dungarvan
  • Company Number - 371404

Club Sponsorship Details

  • Track Side Sign - €300
  • Track Side Sign Renewal - €150
  • Race day Sponsor - €150
  • Championship Class Sponsor - €150

Developed and Designed by Time for Designs | © Waterford Raceway 1970