Skip to content

Easter Eggs & Trophies

Apr 2019 25


All roads once again led to ‘The Pike’ on Easter Sunday ( 21st April) for the 3rd round of the 2019 championship which was kindly sponsored by GK Print. 70 drivers attended briefing on an ideal day for racing. Once practice had been completed, the production juniors, who were again divided into 2 groups due to large numbers, were first to emerge from the pits to get racing under way.

After the familiar 3 rounds of racing Aidan Heney accumulated the most points on the day  in group 1 of the juniors with Leon O’Shea claiming second just ahead of Ted McGrath with another number of drivers in contention for a podium finish going into the 3rd race of the day. Group 2 was equally eventful with nobody gaining an outright advantage in the early rounds. In the end it was Eoghan Burke who won out with Joey Dilworth, after having mechanical issues in the first race, grabbing 2nd just ahead of James Deane.

Martin Power seems to be the man to beat at the moment in the rookies (group 1) as he secured another raceday win ahead of Liam Kiersey and Conor Fitzgerald. Toby McGuire excelled in group 2 of the rookies with maximum points after 3 race wins, with new driver Davan Leahy having a great first day and securing the 2nd step on the podium with Aoife Healy 3rd.

The ladies have had a strong presence so far this season which has led to some entertaining racing. Catherine Walsh has made a flawless change over from grass to tar this season and claimed her first raceday win ahead of Orla O’Sullivan 2nd and Katie Egan 3rd. It has the makings of a very interesting class for the rest of the season and seems impossible to pick a favourite for the end of year honours at the moment.

Class 2 and the stocks ran together on the day with Pat Ryan turning back the years once again with some great driving which led to raceday honours in class 2 and Michael Coughlan 2nd. Brian Weston and Evin Harding had a great battle in the stocks but Brian’s experience told in the end for top honours on the day with Joe Dilworth, reverting back to his underpowered old Focus due to problems with the 2019 car, in 3rd.

Classes 4 &6 also ran together for some high powered and fast racing. Raymond D’Arcy was top man in class 4 with Peadar Wall 2nd and Alan Houlihan 3rd. Class 6 was won by Donie Linehan with Martin Fitz 2nd. In the 1B class Willie Heney  showed that he will not give up his 2018 title without a battle, securing 3 race wins and the top step on the podium with Stephen Healy 2nd and Luke o Donovan 3rd.

Jason Ryan claimed class 3 honours, as they ran with class 5, with new man Gavin Downey quickly getting to grips with his car and grabbing a creditable 2nd ahead of Paul Fitzgerald. Andy O’Brien won class 5 after some competitive racing with Padraig Smiddy. Andy Foley had to settle for 3rd after the mechanical gremlins caused problems in his car. The results in class 1 were the closest of the day with Ronan Coughlan taking the win by the minimum of margins ahead of Darragh O’Shea with Jack Hickey only a further 7 points behind in 3rd.

Because of the day that was in it, the club organised an Easter egg hunt during the break which was well received by the younger members of the club.Once again the club would like to thank everyone involved for helping to make it another successful days racing at Waterford Raceway.



Items for Sale


Calendars, woolly hats & caps are available on racedays or contact us 

Keep Reading

Comments (0)

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>

Contact Us

Club Sponsorship Details

  • Track Side Sign - €300
  • Track Side Sign Renewal - €150
  • Race day Sponsor - €150
  • Championship Class Sponsor - €150

Developed and Designed by Time for Designs | © Waterford Raceway 1970