Skip to content

Full Pits For Round 2

Apr 2019 02


The second round of the 2019 championship was held at Waterford Raceway on Sunday (March 31st) kindly sponsored by SLB Manufacturing and Woodcraft. After a very successful practice day on Saturday, numbers looked promising for Sunday. And so it proved to be with 76 drivers signing on for racing in ideal track conditions. With such high numbers of younger drivers present, it was decided that it was necessary to split the juniors and rookie juniors into 2 groups in each class. Once practice was over, it was group 1 of the production juniors who started the days racing.

After the usual 3 rounds of racing it was Ben Kenneally who stood on the top step of the podium in this group with Ted McGrath 2nd and Aidan Heneyt and Leon O Shea in joint 3rd. In the 2nd group of juniors it was Eoghan Doherty who was top man with Ava Moloney 2nd and Tadgh Foley 3rd. Class 1 was next on track and again the starting grid was full with 13 cars taking to the line. There were a number of incidents during the 3 races but Cian Deasy stayed out of trouble to accumulate the most points followed by Shane Hickey 2nd and Ronan Coughlan 3rd.

Martin Power claimed top spot in group 1 of the rookies just ahead of Conor Fitz (2nd) and Tommy Cronin (3rd). In the 2nd group of rookies Callum O’ Shea  had a great drive on his first day out to finish with the most points with Liam Og Power 2nd and Aoife Healy 3rd. 8 ladies emerged from the pits to make for some good competitive racing over the 3 rounds. Orla O’Sullivan just did enough to secure the top of the podium followed closely by Jamie Egan (2nd ) and Katie Egan (3rd). There was a great battle in class 2 between Jason Ryan and Eddie Baldwin over the 3 races. It was Jason who won out in the end with 2 race wins to Eddie’s 1 and Michael Coughlan claiming the final place on the podium.

Class 4 and 6 took to the track together. On the day there was no stopping Martin Fitz in his newly acquired class 6 Tigra as he stormed through all in front of him to collect maximum points ahead  of Donal Lenihan and Ronan Waters, while in class 4 Raymond D’Arcy was the most consistent to take the win with Mick Boland 2nd and Alan Houlihan 3rd. The 1Bs were as competitive as ever and it was Willie Heney who did enough to claim bragging rights ahead of Liam Fitzgerald (2nd) and Luke O Donovan (3rd). Brian Weston took top spot in the stocks while Steve Slattery was 2nd ahead of Joe Dilworth.

The final race in each round had class3 and 5 on track together which proved very entertaining with some very close racing. In the end Michael Baldwin just did enough to get the win in class 3 with Alan Darcy 2nd and PJ O Sullivan 3rd.In class 5 Andy O Brien got the better of Padraig Smiddy during a close battle all day to finish first and Andy Foley was 3rd.

The club wish to thank all those who helped make it a successful day as well as the photographers and video cameraman. Thankfully the clocks had changed on Saturday night so even though it was a long day of racing everyone left the track with daylight still evident 

Items for Sale


Calendars, woolly hats & caps are available on racedays or contact us 

Keep Reading

Comments (0)

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>

Contact Us

Club Sponsorship Details

  • Track Side Sign - €300
  • Track Side Sign Renewal - €150
  • Race day Sponsor - €150
  • Championship Class Sponsor - €150

Developed and Designed by Time for Designs | © Waterford Raceway 1970