Skip to content

Exciting Weekend of Racing

Aug 2019 17



It was a very busy weekend for Waterford Raceway on Saturday and Sunday (10th &11th August) for round 7 & 8 of the 2019 championship with over 60 drivers signed on for Saturday and over 70 for Sunday. Along with the usual championship rounds there were cups up for grabs in all classes including the Tony Dunphy and Maura Walsh cups which led to plenty of entertaining racing over the 2 days.

Saturday evening which was kindly sponsored by Premier Auto Engineering consisted of 2 rounds of championship racing as well as qualifiers for the Tony Dunphy cup. Class 1 honours on the day went to Shane Hickey ahead of Darragh O Shea and Cian Clancy. Eddie Baldwin was the lead man in class 2 with Michael Coughlan 2nd and Pat Ryan 3rd . Pat’s big moment at the top corner-turning over twice -put paid to him having the usual battle with Eddie. Michael Baldwin took the class 3 plaudits with Jason Ryan 2nd and Alan Darcy 3rd despite car problems hitting both drivers. Raymond D’Arcy is having a great season in class 4 and once again showed he is the man to beat with maximum points achieved. Tom Hill and Peadar Wall were joint 2nd.Padraig Smiddy was glad to be the lone class5 entrant on the day as he had the opportunity to get to grips with his new Honda powered Starlet. Martin Fitzgerald was the lone driver in class6.

The stocks numbers were boosted by Andrew Burke and the returning Evin Harding. Andrew proved to be very competitive in his Focus and finished joint 1st with Brian Weston followed by Evin 2nd and Joe Dilworth and Stevie Slattery joint 3rd. Alan Houlihan was the most consistent in the 1B class holding off the challenge of Jason Ryan 2nd and Stephen Healy 3rd. The juniors were once again split into 2 groups and in the production A group it was Ted McGrath who climbed highest on the podium with Aidan Heney 2nd and Cian Clancy 3rd. Ryan Hickey had a good drive in the B group to take the win ahead of Eoghan Burke and Darragh Walsh. Martin Power’s season is going from strength to strength as he collected maximum points for the round in groupA of the rookies. He appears to be the man to beat at the moment with Liam Kiersey (2nd) and Toby McGuire (3rd) the strongest challengers on the day. In group B of the rookies it was Aaron Kenneally who took the honours ahead of Katie Egan came out on top in the ladies class with maximum points ahead of Orla O’Sullivan and Jamie Egan. Saturdays racing was completed with a helpers race which Stephen Condon won ahead of Ben Hickey and Anne Mc Guire.

Sunday was an early start for everyone with registration opening at 9.30am. With numbers reaching the high 70s it was to be a very busy and entertaining day of racing which was kindly sponsored by The Lonergan Band. After the 1st round of racing the final places for the 1st big race of the day (Tony Dunphy Cup) were decided. It was Eddie Baldwin (class 2) who had a great drive taking the cup with his son, Michael, in 2nd and Shane Hickey 3rd. The usual championship rounds continued after that before the rest of the cup races.

Class 1 was won once again by Shane Hickey with Darragh O’Shea 2nd and Ronan Coughlan 3rd. Eddie Baldwin continued his good weekend taking the honours in class 2 ahead of Michael Coughlan and Paul Fitzgerald joint 2nd and Jack Pollard grabbing 3rd. In class 3 Michael Baldwin was on top of the podium with Shaun Lonergan 2nd and Alan Darcy 3rd.Raynond D’Arcy was again the most consistent in class4 follwed by Mick Boland (2nd) and Peadar Wall 3rd. Both Padraig Smiddy (1st) and Ronan Waters (2nd) suffered mechanical problems in class 5 to curtail their involvement during the day. Martin Fitzgerald again took the win in class6 ahead of Brian Whelan and Brendan Dee. Brian Weston was the top man in the stocks ahead of Stevie Slattery and Evin Harding. Jason Ryan –in son Ross’s car- took the day win in class 1B ahead of Stephen Healy with Willie Heney and Alan Houlihan sharing 3rd.

There was no splitting Ted McGrath and Ben Kenneally  after the 3 rounds in the production juniors groupA with Cian Clancy 2nd and Eoghan Burke 3rd. Group B was won by James Deane ahead of Darragh Walsh and Darragh Healy. Toby McGuire was top driver in groupA of the rookies, keeping Martin Power on the second step of the podium and Aaron Kenneally on the 3rd one. Davan Leahy took the win in groupB with birthday girl Mollie O’Sullivan 2nd and Liam Og Power grabbing 3rd. Orla O’Sullivan was back to winning ways taking the win in the ladies with Katie Egan 2nd and Jamie Egan 3rd.

After all the battles of the championship races, the drivers had it all to do again to claim bragging rights in the cup races. The stock cup went to Brian Weston after a number of years of losing out with Stevie Slattery 2nd and Evin Harding 3rd. Stephen Healy claimed the 1B cup ahead of Alan Houlihan and Darren Prince. Martin Power grabbed the rookie cup with Toby McGuire having to settle for 2nd and Aaron Kenneally 3rd. The production juniors cup was won by Ted McGrath with Ben Kenneally 2nd and Eoin Burke 3rd. The final race of the day was for the Maura Walsh cup. Again this was a hotly contested race with Jack Hickey winning out in the end ahead of Paddy O’Sullivan and Ronan Foley.


The club wish to thank everyone who helped make the weekend such a success and we look forward to more great action during round 9 on September 15th.

Items for Sale


Calendars, woolly hats & caps are available on racedays or contact us 

Keep Reading

Comments (0)

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>

Contact Us

  • 086 8936714
  • The Pike, Dungarvan
  • Company Number - 371404

Club Sponsorship Details

  • Track Side Sign - €300
  • Track Side Sign Renewal - €150
  • Race day Sponsor - €150
  • Championship Class Sponsor - €150

Developed and Designed by Time for Designs | © Waterford Raceway 1970